Virginia Symphony Orchestra Presents: Marsalis New Work + "New World"

View map

Time & Place

  • Virginia Symphony Orchestra Presents: Marsalis New Work + "New World"
    • Ferguson Center for the Arts

      October 22, 2021, 7:30 p.m.

      1 Avenue of the Arts
      Newport News, VA 23606
    • Phone: 757-594-8752
      Toll Free: 855-337-4849
      Highway Exit: 258 - J. Clyde Morris Boulevard
      Website: Click here to visit us online


Patrons are currently required to wear face coverings while inside the Ferguson Center, regardless of vaccination status. This is a temporary policy that follows CDC guidance and an increase in local cases. 


Steven Jarvi, conductor
Carol Jantsch, tuba

Wynton Marsalis: Concerto for Tuba and Orchestra
Dvorak: Symphony No. 9 “from the New World”


Be one of the first to hear Wynton Marsalis’ new concerto for tuba and orchestra, commissioned by the Philadelphia Orchestra for tubist Carol Jantsch in this special preview performance! Dvorak’s “New World” Symphony reflects on the bountiful and optimistic United States that welcomed the composer with open arms. Spirituals learned from the grandson of a freed slave and transcriptions of the Native American melodies enrich this mix of European refinement and American earnestness.